Just Got 2 Tell

Anything & Everything I Feel Compelled to Share with the World!

Happy New Year January 1, 2014

The last two days, I’ve had so much running through my mind that I’ve #JustGot2Tell so I might actually be a bit more active in updating this in the next week or so. To start things off, I just want to ask how did you say goodbye to 2013 and bring in 2014?  I’ve celebrating the new year in many different ways, parties, sleeping, at church, Murder Mystery dinner.  But this was the first year I’ve been at Liberty University for Winterfest.

I LOVE music. Absolutely LOVE it. It’s one thing that I would hate to live without, (I know I could physically live without it, but if God asked me to, I would probably do so grudgingly and with lots of whining). Better than that I LOVE music that honors God. Yes, my mp3 player has a lot of 80s and country as well, but music that praises God or is God-honoring, that feeds the soul. So what better way to end the year and start the next one than praising God and rocking out with 12 different Christian artists.

Many of the names I knew. I’d already seen 5 of them in concert before. Fell even more in love with Unspoken, whom I’d just seen in Danville a couple months ago. Rekindled with flame with Skillet, a band I was obsessed with in college, but had fallen away from the stronger rock feel.  Gave the new Audio Adrenaline a try. LOVED them with Mark Stuart. Hadn’t realized Kevin Max was the one doing lead vocals, but I knew he looked familiar. They aren’t the same as the original; the old songs had a new sound (which made sense this morning when I realized it was Kevin Max). Their new songs did NOT disappoint.

We rang in the new year with Third Day. They were huge surprise. I have to say I’m not a huge fan on their music. They have some great songs; I know a lot of them and sing along on the radio, but they’re never ones I find myself in the mood to listen to. Hearing them in concert, though. That was amazing!!! Hands down one of the best worship experiences ever.

What was really cool was that even though they each had their own style of music, ranging from Hip Hop and Rap to Rock of extremely-varied levels (some a little harder than I’m used to), they were each there for One reason: praise God. And that is most certainly what we did.

There were some pretty great speakers lined up as well. It was pretty cool to hear from the Duck Dynasty teens. Sadie, John Luke, Reed, and Cole Robertson opened up the first night and shared their faith as well as some interesting Uncle Si stories. It blesses my heart to see them use their fame as a ministry and witness for God to so many. Thank you for being honest and real.

There’s an old wives’ tale that I grew up hearing. Whatever you do on new year’s day, you’ll spend the rest of the year doing. With that in mind, my mom avoided laundry, dishes, and most other cleaning on New Years Day. It never really made sense because I mean, seriously those things never end anyway. Not really. But on an opposite note. What if the first thing you did in the new year was praise God?  What if you made that your goal for the first day of 2014, to make an effort to praise and worship God?  What kind of pattern would be set for the entire year?

.

Lastly, I have to share Unspoken’s song, “Lift My Life Up”.  This is the prayer of my heart for 2014 and the rest of my life. Take my dreams, my plans. Take my life and let it be all for you. Have your way in me, God!

 

 

What Do You Think?

